Province and Name of Senator	P.O. Address	Province and Name of Senator	P.O. Address
Quebecconcluded VAILLANCOURT, CYRILLE DUPUIS, VINCENT DESSUREAULT, JEAN MARIE BOUFFARD, PAUL HENRI JODOIN, MARIANA BEAUCHAMP TREMBLAY, LEONARD D. SWEEZEY FOURNIER, SARTO MOLSON, H. DE M POWER, C. G POULIOT, JEAN FRANÇOIS LEFRANÇOIS, J. EUGÈNE DROUIN, MARK ROBERT MÉTHOT, LÉON MONETTE, GUSTAVE	Lévis Montreal Quebec Quebec Montreal St. Malachie Montreal Quebec Rivière du Loup Montreal Quebec Trois Rivières Montreal	Ontario—concluded GROSART, ALLISTER. ROBERTSON, JOHN A. WALKER, DAVID J. BELISLE, RHEAL. (6 Senators) BEAUBIEN, ARTHUR LUCIEN. CRERAR, THOMAS ALEXANDER. THORVALDSON, GUNNAR S. IRVINE, OLIVE L. YUZYK, PAUL. HAIG, J. CAMPBELL.	Ottawa Kenora Toronto Sudbury St. Jean Baptiste Winnipeg Winnipeg Winnipeg Winnipeg Winnipeg
QUART, JOSIE A BEAUBIEN, LOUIS P FLYNN, JACQUES BOURGET, MAURICE (23 Senators—1 vacancy) LAMBERT, NORMAN PLATT HAVDEN, SALTER A DELAN	Sillery Montreal Quebec Lévis Ottawa Toronto	Saskatchewan (6 Senators) Horner, Ralph Byron Aseltine, Walter Morley Wood, Thomas H Boucher, William Albert Pearson, Arthur M HNATYSHYN, JOHN	Blaine Lake Rosetown Regina Prince Albert Lumsden Saskatoon
PATERSON, NORMAN MCLEOD DAVIES, WILLIAM RUPERT. CAMPBELL, GORDON PETER. TAYLOR, WILLIAM HORACE. BISHOP, CHARLES LAWRENCE. ROEBUCK, ARTHUR WENTWORTH WOODROW, ALLAN L. MACDONALD, WILLIAM ROSS. CONNOLLY, JOHN J.	Fort William Toronto Toronto Brantford Ottawa Toronto Toronto Brantford Ottawa	Alberta— (6 Senators) BLAIS, ARISTIDE. GERSHAW, FRED WILLIAM. STAMBAUGH, J. WESLEY. CAMERON, DONALD. GLADSTONE, JAMES. BUCHANAN, JOHN A.	Edmonton Medicine Hat Bruce Edmonton Cardston Edmonton
Croll, DAVID A Leonard, T. D'Arcy White, George Stanley Sullivan, Joseph A Choquette, Lionel Willis, Harry A McCutcheon, M. Wallace O'Leary, M. Grattan	Toronto Toronto Madoc Toronto Ottawa Toronto Toronto Ottawa	British Columbia— (6 Senators) Farris, John Wallace de Beque Turgeon, James Gray McKeen, Stanley Stewart Reid, Thomas Hodges, Nancy Smith, Sidney John	Vancouver Vancouver Vancouver New Westminster Victoria Kamloops

8.-Members of the Senate, by Province, as at Apr. 30, 19631-concluded

¹ Any changes occurring between Apr. 30, 1963 and the date of going to press will be carried in an Appendix to this volume.

The House of Commons.—The British North America Act, 1867 provided that in respect of representation in the House of Commons the Province of Quebec should have the fixed number of sixty-five members and that there should be assigned to each of the other provinces such a number of members as would bear the same proportion to the number of its population as the number sixty-five bears to the number of the population of Quebec. This Act also provided that on the completion of a census in 1871 and of each subsequent decennial census the representation of the several provinces should be readjusted from time to time provided the proportionate representation of the provinces as prescribed by the Act were not thereby disturbed.

In the session of 1946 the House of Commons adopted a resolution stating that the effect of the provisions of the British North America Act relating to representation had not been satisfactory in that proportionate representation of the provinces according to population had not been maintained and that a more equitable apportionment of members to the various provinces could be effected if readjustments were made on the basis of the population of all the provinces taken as a whole. The Act was amended accordingly in 1946 to provide a new rule to regulate representation in the House of Commons. Generally speaking, representation was fixed as follows:—

The membership assigned to each province shall be computed by dividing the total population of the provinces by two hundred and fifty-four and by dividing the population of each province by the quotient so obtained.